Private Prayer

Private prayer is an intimate, generous response to God’s love and an indispensable quest for living a life of union with Him. Faithfulness to prayer or its abandonment is the vitality or decadence of the religious life.

-Evangelica Testificatio, #42

Private prayer is the pray that we do on alone with the Lord. Some of our private prayer is required by our Constitutions some we may decide to do on our own.

Mental Prayer


Mental Prayer is quiet reflection in the presence of God which draws us closer to Him. It nourishes our interior life and prepares us to share in the mystery of the Eucharist and the Liturgy of the Hours more intimately and with greater profit. (Ecclesiae Sanctae II, #21)

Daily, each Sister spends at least thirty minutes in mental prayer at the time and place of her choice.

Stations of the Cross

Love for the passion of Christ is a rich Franciscan tradition. Saint Francis, in his great love for the suffering Savior, was rewarded in this life with the stigmata.

As followers of St. Francis, we meditate frequently on the passion and death of Christ and value our own suffering as a precious gift from God for the building of his Church.

We meditate upon our Lord’s suffering and death by praying the Stations of the Cross at least twice a week.

Personal Prayers and Devotions

Each Sister is a unique person with a unique personal vocation, so we each have our own devotions and practices in prayer in addition to those prescribed in our Constitutions.

How to Pray the Stations of the Cross

The Way of the Cross

There are no required prayers at each station. It is traditional to begin each station with: “We adore Thee, O Christ, and we praise Thee, for by Thy Holy Cross Thou hast redeemed the world.” And to end with: “Lord Jesus Crucified, have mercy on us.”

  1. Jesus is condemned to death.
  2. Jesus accepts the Cross.
  3. Jesus falls for the first time.
  4. Jesus meets His afflicted Mother.
  5. Simon helps Jesus to carry His Cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls a second time.
  8. Jesus consoles the sorrowing women.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of His clothing.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the Cross.
  13. Jesus is taken down from the Cross.
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

At the end of the Stations, pray one Our Father, one Hail Mary and a Glory Be for the intentions of the Holy Father.